I’m in a hurry, so I’ll just get fast food.

That was a silly thing you just said, Title of this post. C’mon, man. I expect more from you, Title.

Yes, often times we are in a hurry and would like to find a quick fix to the problem of being hungry. “I have to do all of these things, but UGH, I am hungry.” Maybe this is a thought that goes through your head. I encourage you not to think of hunger as an inconvenience, but as an opportunity.

First of all, there are many people with illnesses and things that aren’t quite right in their body that cause them to not feel hungry too often. I have been in that situation myself and it sucks. The fact that you are hungry is a blessing. It means things must be working right.

Second. Hunger means your body needs fuel to continue through the day. Use this opportunity to eat foods that will HELP you feel good for the rest of the day and week. Instead of rushing through a meal that, if anything, might hurt your body, and didn’t taste all that great either. Surround yourself with good food, that can also be prepared or eaten quickly during hectic times.

Example. I have very little time today between when I got home and when I need to leave again. Instead of taking the punch myself in the face way out, I came home for a quick meal. I also could have taken these foods with me but I wasn’t sure exactly how my day would pan out, therefore, I wasn’t as prepared as I would like to have been.

I had about 20 minutes to eat before I had to continue on with my day. Actually, writing this entry is slowing me down, but hey, I wanted to share!

I came home and boom, popped a bowl of oatmeal in the microwave while I changed. By the time I was done changing the oatmeal was ready. I put some cinnamon on it (which helps regulate blood sugar) and mixed it up. While I waited for it to cool, I mixed some yogurt with cottage cheese and protein powder. You can put in some honey instead of the protein powder as well, for flavor. Now I have two awesome bowls of protein/fiber among other things, for the rest of the day. Once I finished those, had a piece of string cheese and some walnuts. I will take a handful of almonds and a banana with me on the way out the door.

That’s all it took. I feel full as well as ready for the rest of the day. I don’t feel like a food comma because this was all good food that will give me lasting energy. I did have to previously think ahead to buy these foods, but this is proof that it works.

And that’s it for today. Just wanted to stop by and share a quick nutrition success story. Dodged a nutritional self punch to the face on that one. What are some successful nutrition stories of yours when you were in a hurry? We would love to read them in the comments section of this post!

 

P.S

“But sometimes I can’t go home because I don’t have enough time to do so.” Ok, mythical voice, I hear you and I agree. This was an example of a situation where I was able to come home. In the future I’ll write about ideas pertaining to that specific situation. I gotchu’.

Leave a comment