I was going to work out today, but I’m too tired after work.

I’ve been there. You, reader, have probably been there before. Where is “there” you ask? It is a place I like to call “You-think-you’re-too-tired-but-probably-aren’t Town.” I lied. I don’t call it that. I just made that up.

Sorry for lying. That’s my bad.

But, alas, this fictional town I made up as I typed, is still very meaningful. I am referring to the fact that most of the time you think you are just too tired to work out, you probably aren’t.

We all work very hard. We need to pay the bills! We want to perform well at any task that we work on at our jobs, day in, day out. Whether you work an office job, or work outside with your hands, or travel often because of your job. Working is tiring! For sure.

All of this is true and I completely agree. But. BUT!!! And trust me on this one. More often than not, once you get started on your workout, even if you were exhausted from work, you will get through your workout just fine! Most of the time, all you need to do is get going on the workout and you will realize you just might make it through alive.

It sounds crazy enough to work. And it does.

Just start the workout. Even if you have to drag yourself to the gym. Or even if you have to drag yourself to set up that pull up bar. Or even if the workout is just as home, just start it. You’ll see what I mean.

Plus, after a workout, we all know how good we feel. Very rarely would you think to yourself “man, I feel so great right now, I regret that workout that made me feel this awesome and improved my overall health.”

Ok. Ok ok ok. SOMETIMES the entire workout we had planned before sounds like it might take a bit longer than we think we have in the tank. That happens.

My advice for that, is to sacrifice the duration of your workout, not the intensity. If your workout was going to be a half hour. Just go hard for fifteen or twenty minutes. You will be done sooner and will have been more efficient with your time spent.

Of course, if you are sick or injured, that would be a good time to skip a planned workout. Making an injury worse, is never a good plan. Pushing yourself while really sick, may make you stay sick for a longer period of time. If your head is stuffy but your body still feels energetic, I would say, go for it. If your body feels so run down and low on energy that you don’t want to move, in that case, skip the workout, champ.

Recap:

Most of the time, when you think you are too tired to work out, you probably aren’t. Just get yourself to start. You will feel great and proud that you got through a workout you may have otherwise skipped. Your body will thank you for it. And so will your bf/gf/wife/husband  😉

Yup, I went there with the emoticon. Nothing wrong with dropping a good wink on em’ from time to time.

Leave a comment